In Georgia, you are not actually required to get a boating license, but you will need what’s known as a Boater Education Card. If you own a boat, you’ll need to have it registered as well. The LG Insurance Group in Marietta, GA has details regarding information about your boat, so you can be safe when you go out on the water this summer.
Qualifications for a Boat
If you were born after January 1998, you will need to take the boater safety course in order to operate a watercraft in Georgia. There are a few exemptions.
- Licensed U.S. Coast Guard
- Boating on a private lake
- Non-residents with a completed education course form from the National Association of State Boating Law Administration (NASBLA)
Rules and Regulations for Boaters
Everyone over the age of 12 who wants to operate a water vessel in Georgia must have a Boater Education Card from the Department of Natural Resources (DNR).
There are a few restrictions for those under the age of 12:
- Cannot operate boats larger than 16 feet
- Must have adult supervision if the boat is less than 16 feet without a motor or is less than 30 horsepower
For those boaters who are between the ages of 12 and 15:
- You are authorized to operate boats that are less than 16 feet if:
- You completed the boater safety course.
- You are supervised by an adult.
If you are 16 or older:
- You can operate any watercraft if you have proper identification, AND
- You have completed the boater safety course
Getting a Boater Education Card
To receive a Boater Education Card, you must participate and pass an approved boater’s safety course. You can take courses with the:
- U.S. Coast Guard
- Department of Natural Resources
- U.S. Power Squadrons
- An approved online course
In Marietta, GA, the LG Insurance Group has professional agents that can help you navigate your responsibilities as a boater, including maintaining insurance for your boat.